SOLIDARITY STATEMENT: Academics in solidarity with Viome

0

Dear colleagues,

Most of you are already familiar with the worker recuperated factory of VIOME which is under workers’ control. The workers of VIOME in Thessaloniki, Greece, have stood up against unemployment and poverty by carrying through a long struggle to self-manage the occupied factory, in very adverse conditions. For 10 years now, they have been producing and selling ecological cleaning products at the occupied premises. They have been working on terms of equality, deciding collectively through the general assembly. At the same time, they have received a big wave of solidarity from movements not only in Greece but all over the world, acknowledging their struggle as an emblematic one for human dignity. It has become a great example of resistance and prefigurative praxis.

Repeatedly the Greek state has attacked and threatened the factory with closure. On the 20th of September 2023, representatives of investment funds tried to enter the factory and evict workers. Viome was saved: Despite the fund & contractor’s surprise operation to dismantle the project, workers & solidarity groups gathered at the gate and prevented the eviction. But nothing is over, they will try again.

To withstand this attack, it is important to show our solidarity to all those who have turned their bodies into a protective shield against greed, profit and destruction. It is crucial for us as members of the academic community who strive for alternative futures to partake in this resistance, starting with signing this statement.

I sign this statement in solidarity with the VIOME struggle against the recent attack to evict them from the factory that they have managed to keep alive for the last 10 years. We join the resistance and state our support to all workers and their supporters to keep #Viome alive!

VIOME IS NOT FOR SALE!

VIOME WILL REMAIN IN THE HANDS OF THE WORKERS!

Estimados compañeros académicos,

La mayoría de ustedes ya están familiarizados con la fábrica recuperada por los trabajadores de VIOME que está bajo control de los trabajadores. Los trabajadores de VIOME en Salónica, Grecia, se han levantado contra el desempleo y la pobreza llevando a cabo una larga lucha para autogestionar la fábrica ocupada, en condiciones muy adversas. Desde hace 10 años producen y venden productos de limpieza ecológicos en las instalaciones ocupadas. Han estado trabajando en términos de igualdad, decidiendo colectivamente a través de la asamblea general. Al mismo tiempo, han recibido una gran ola de solidaridad de movimientos no sólo en Grecia sino en todo el mundo, reconociendo su lucha como una lucha emblemática por la dignidad humana. Se ha convertido en un gran ejemplo de resistencia y praxis prefigurativa.

En repetidas ocasiones el Estado griego ha atacado y amenazado con cerrar la fábrica. El 20 de septiembre 2023, representantes de fondos de inversión intentaron entrar en la fábrica y desalojar a los trabajadores. Viome se salvó: a pesar de la operación sorpresa del fondo y del contratista para desmantelar el proyecto, los trabajadores y los grupos de solidaridad lograron reunirse en la puerta y evitar el desalojo. Pero nada ha terminado, lo intentarán de nuevo.

Para resistir este ataque, es importante mostrar nuestra solidaridad con todos aquellos que han utilizado y seguirán utilizando sus cuerpos como escudo protector contra la codicia, el lucro y la destrucción. Es crucial para nosotros, como miembros de la comunidad académica que luchamos por futuros alternativos, participar en esta resistencia, comenzando con la firma de esta declaración.

Firmo esta declaración en solidaridad con la lucha de VIOME contra el reciente ataque para desalojarlos de la fábrica que han logrado mantener viva durante los últimos 10 años. ¡Nos unimos a la resistencia y manifestamos nuestro apoyo a todos los trabajadores y sus seguidores para mantener vivo #Viome!

¡VIOME NO ESTÁ A LA VENTA!

¡VIOME QUEDARÁ EN MANOS DE LOS TRABAJADORES!

Prof Maria Daskalaki
Oxford Brookes University
mdaskalaki@brookes.ac.uk

Name / Nombre Affiliation / Afiliación Email (optional)

Professor Maria Daskalaki / Oxford Brookes University / mdaskalaki@brookes.ac.uk
Dr Dimitra Vladimirou / Coventry University / dimitravlad@yahoo.co.uk
Dr Dimitris Pettas / Technical University of Berlin / pettasdimit@gmail.com
Prof Denise Kasparian / University of Buenos Aires / dkasparian@conicet.gov.ar
Prof Monika Kostera / University of Warsaw, Poland and University of Södertörn, Sweden / kostera@onet.eu
Prof Iain Munro / Newcastle University, UK
Prof Ignasi Martí / ESADE Business School / ignasi.marti@esade.edu
Dr Emmanouela Mandalaki / NEOMA Business School / emmanouela.mandalaki@neomabs.fr
Dr. Anastasios Hadjisolomou / University of Strathclyde / a.hadjisolomou@strath.ac.uk
Prof Daniel Arenas / ESADE-Universitat Ramon Llull / daniel.arenas@esade.edu
Andrew Kilmister / Oxford Brookes University Business School / ackilmister@brookes.ac.uk
Dr Guilherme Azevedo Audencia Business School gazevedo@audencia.com
Dr Katia Novikova / SWPS University in Warsaw, Poland
Prof Chris Land / Anglia Ruskin University, School of Management
Professor Yuliya Shymko/  Audencia Business School / yshymko@audencia.com
Prof. Bhabani Shankar Nayak / Уniversity for the Creative Arts, UK / bhabani79@gmail.com
Dr Ruth Elizabeth / Slater University of Central Lancashire, UK
Dr. Dimitris Soudias / University of Groningen / d.soudias@rug.nl
Dr Beverly Geesin / Northumbria University, Newcastle Business School
Julien Lafaille / Grenoble Ecole de Management / julien.lafaille@grenoble-em.com
Prof Jason Glynos / University of Essex, Department of Government
Professor Carole Elliott / Sheffield University Management School / carole.elliott@sheffield.ac.uk
Professor Marianne Maeckelbergh / University of Ghent, Belgium / marianne.maeckelbergh@ugent.be
Jes Fernie / University of the Arts London / j.fernie@csm.arts.ac.uk
Professor Marianna Fotaki / Warwick Business School / Marianna.Fotaki@wbs.ac.uk
Professor Andreas Chatzidakis / Royal Holloway University of London / Andreas.Chatzidakis@rhul.ac.uk
Dr. Marco Gottero / Università degli Studi di Torino / marco.gottero@unito.it
Dr Anna Paraskevopoulou / Anglia Ruskin University / anna.paraskevopoulou@aru.ac.uk
Professor Lynne Segal / Birkbeck, University of London / l.segal@bbk.ac.uk
Professor Carine Bouzir / Neoma business school / carine.chemin-bouzir@neoma-bs.fr
Dr. Christina Sakali / Aristotle University of Thessaloniki / christina.sakali@gmail.com
Dr. Cagatay Sahin / Ordu University, Türkiye / cedgucansahin@gmail.com
Dr Dermot O’Reilly / Lancaster University / d.oreilly@lancaster.ac.uk
Dr Stephen Allen / University of Sheffield / stephen.allen@sheffield.ac.uk
Aleksandra Hall / University of Ghent / aleksandra.hall@ugent.be
Dr Alia Weston / OCAD University / aweston@ocadu.ca
Dr Anke Strauß / Eberswalde University for Sustainable Development / anke.strauss@hnee.de
Prof Alison Pullen / Macquarie University

Αφήστε ένα σχόλιο

nineteen − eight =